composer, performer 
About, Email

for two (spring)
violin and piano
written for Victoria Lewis and Yihan Chen
fp — Victoria Lewis/Yihan Chen, Milton Court Concert Hall (UK), 19-03-2024
Programme note
Recently, I have been making pieces which are comprised of a restricted set of musical materials; for two (spring) is in that regard among my most rigorous. My preoccupation with this way of working comes from an interest in the way similar sounds can be understood differently as a piece unfolds through shifts in pacing and context. I used some material with which I am more familiar, and some which is rather new to me.

Many thanks to Victoria and Yihan for their work in preparing the premiere performance as well as Mark Knoop and Marcus Barcham-Stevens for their guidance.

tagsduo, 5’-10’

documentation forthcoming
©Darius Paymai 2023please contact for scores, CV, further info, recordings, or just to say hello